Eight Month Round-Up

As I mentioned in my last post – I’ve been pretty inactive on my blog for about 8 months now and its only because of a friend of mine that I was inspired to continue writing. It’s hard to say why it fizzled out to be honest, I think stresses at my old job and other boring excuses got the better of me and I didn’t make the time to write anymore.

You know how it is, life gets in the way sometimes and before you know it…almost a year has gone by but I’m here now with a caramel coffee in hand and my fingertips chomping at the bit.

So, what would be more fitting than my first real entry back in the blogosphere being about things I’ve learned over the past 8 months?

Unashamedly, I’ve taken the idea for this post from my friend I told you about – her first post on her new Tumblr blog had this theme and I thought it was fab.

Copycat you say? Guilty as charged – but I hope if she ever reads this she’s flattered that she inspired me to reflect on my own experiences.

1. You work to live – not the other way around.
It took me a little while to figure this one out. Moving on from my previous job was one of the healthiest decisions I’ve made. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoyed it but working for a small company in the events industry can get extremely tedious after a little while. I’m no stranger to hard graft or a fast paced atmosphere but being on call 24/7 (literally) for no extra pay and the amount of stress I was under just wasn’t worth it anymore. I was glued to my work phone. It wasn’t even about the money – I just felt exhausted 80% of the time and since working in the PR field with a different employer – I’ve completely changed and understand what being valued and supported genuinely means. So, if you’re working your ass off but keep feeling like you’re taking 5 steps back, get back on the job hunt ‘cos it really isn’t worth it.

2. It’s OK to feel in limbo
I hate it when you see people all over your social media who pretend to have their shit together. They don’t. It’s not real. Nobody can ever completely have their shit together. From those couples who seem ‘perfect’ to the wanderlust friends who travel the world – I’m not buying it. It was only when so many people I knew were getting engaged, buying houses, getting pregnant or even just going after something they really wanted that I realised its OK to go at my own pace and just enjoy my youth. I have a great job, amazing boyfriend, friends and family – why do I NEED to have my life planned out at 23? I love that I have such strong minded people in my life who know where they’re going but for now – I’m happy expecting the unexpected.

3. You need something to look forward to to keep on going
Ever noticed that when you’ve nothing coming up in your calendar, you feel much more lazy and bored with life and your routine? OMG…me too! That’s why I literally need stuff to look forward to each month if I can. As soon as I came back from my once in a lifetime trip to Las Vegas (aka Sin City) last August, I promised myself I’d make the best memories EVER. Now, 2016 promises to be a fun filled and action packed year so I stay super rejuvenated and happy! You’ll need to stay tuned though to find out what they are…*wink wink*

4. Your friends are so much more important than you think
Ugh I probably had the biggest rollercoaster of years’ in 2015. It was possibly the best year of my life yet the absolute worst….but that’s the sob story over. What I’m trying to say is that I couldn’t of gotten through it without my amazing two group of friends. Although my bestie has been my rock throughout it all…I couldn’t of done half of it without my Clique. Yes that’s right – we call ourselves that…and what?! We had the best of friendships back in uni and almost 2 years after graduating and a handful of different postcodes between us – that group of 8 girls are still really fabulous. Yours will be too (probs not as much as mine ‘cos that’s impossible) so make sure you make time for ’em!

5. Having something just for yourself is a must
I recently started hot yoga to break up my routine and also get fit and supple and boy am I glad I did! I do the odd class with my friends but mainly I go alone. The calmness and peacefulness is great for a stresspot like me. I try to go twice a week and it’s really made a difference to my attitude -whilst also making me a little more flexible! …Always a perk! Find some ‘you’ time, whether it be reading a book, joining a club or listening to a podcast. It’ll make you feel so chilled and positive. I promise.

So, there you go. My 5 lessons from the past 8 months. What are yours?

Love, Tasha x

Leave a Reply

